Report of the Secretary presented at the 41st Annual General Body Meeting, New Delhi, March 2, 1989

The Society organized a National Symposium on the occasion of National Science Day on Feb. 28, 1989 on "Epidemiology and forecasting of plant diseases" under the joint auspicies of the Society, the I.A.R.I., New Delhi and the Indian National Science Academy and a "Panel discussion on Plant Quarantine in Relation to New Import Policy of Seeds", during the annual meetings of the Society. For the first time the Society also organized Poster Paper Sessions in addition to the contributory paper sessions on various topics of plant pathology. All these meetings were attended by a large number of distinguished plant pathologists of the country.

During the year 1988, 157 new members joined the Society bringing the total membership to 1470. The Society lost two highly valuable members in the sudden death of Dr. S. B. Saksena and Dr. Y. C. Paliwal.

The Society this year admitted the following 29 members as Fellows: Dr. A. K. Agarwal, Dr. Akhtar Haseeb, Dr. Arun Kumar, Dr. L. N. Daftri, Dr. J. H. Gupta, Dr. J. L. Kaul, Dr. R. K. Khatri, Dr. Muneshwar Rai, Dr. S. Pandey, Dr. N. B. Pawar, Dr. N. N. Raghavendra Rao, Dr. Ram Kishun, Dr. K. V. Sankaran, Dr. P. Saxena, Dr. I. P. Sharma, Dr. M. P. Sharma, Dr. R. C. Sharma, Dr. P. S. Shekhawat, Dr. M. R. Siddiqui, Dr. D. P. Singh, Dr. Mohit Singh, Dr. M. N. Singh, Dr. N. Iboton Singh, Dr. R. S. Singh, Dr. G. C. Srivastava, Dr. R. P. Thakur, Dr. (Miss) B. R. Vaidehi, Dr. R. P. Verma and Dr. B.S. Yadav. Heartiest congratulations to the new Fellows of the Society.

The Society is thankful to the Indian Council of Agricultural Research for providing financial assistance of Rs. 20,000.00 for the publication of the Indian Phytopathology and also to the Indian National Science Academy for granting Rs. 5,000.00 in connection with the National Symposium on "Epidemiology and Forecasting of Plant Diseases". The financial position of the Society continued to be sound. On December 31, 1988 the Society had a total of Rs. 2,80,419.53 in the Saving Bank account, and Rs. 2,14,500.00 in the long term deposit.

The publication of the journal is upto date. The last issue of Vol. 41 of 1988 has been received for distribution to the members. The Society is doing its best to bring out various issues before the due date.

The Zonal Chapters of the Society started functioning from 1988 and organized highly successful meetings in various zones between December, 1988 and February, 1989. In addition to the meetings of the zonal Chapters various Chapters also organized special lectures by distinguished speakers. Special lectures were delivered by Dr. L. Bos (The Netherlands), Dr. J. M. Bove (France), Dr. J. W. Eckert (USA), Dr. M. Gamier (France), Dr. R. G. Milne (Italy), Dr. N. M. Nair (India), Dr. Mathew H. Royer (USA), Dr. G. S. Shekhawat (India) and Dr. R. P. Verma (Canada).

The first meeting of the Delhi Zone was held at New Delhi on 15.12.1988. Dr. Dharam Vir, Zonal Chapter President and Dr. V. C. Sinha, Councillor arranged a seminar on "Chemical and physical treatment of seeds for control of plant diseases" during the occasion. The meeting was attended by a large number of members of the Society.

INDIAN PHYTOPATHOLOGY

The annual meeting of the Northern Zone Chapter was held on 12.11.1988 at Solan; Dr. P. S. Bedi, Zonal Chapter President and Dr. S. S. Cheema, Councillor organized special meetings to discuss plant disease problems of the zone. The annual meeting of the Mid-eastern one was held on 21-22.12.1988 at Pantnagar; Dr. R. A. Singh, Zonal Chapter President and Dr. S. J. Kolte, Councillor organized a symposium on "Management of major diseases of oilseeds and pulses in U.P." on this occasion. The annual meeting of the Eastern Zonal Chapter President and Dr. N. Mukherjee, Councillor organized a symposium on "Plant Disease Problems" on that day. The annual meeting of the Southern Zone Chapter was held on 18-19.1.1989 at Bangalore; Dr. S. S. Gowda, Zonal Chapter President and Dr. K. G. Ranganathaiah, Councillor, organized different sessions on various aspects of plant pathology during the meeting. The meeting of the Western Zonal Chapter was held on 1-2.2.1989 at Parbhani; Dr. V. R. Mali, Zonal Chapter President and Dr. V. R. Datar, Councillor organized several sessions on diseases of crop plants of importance of the area. All the meetings were attended by a large number of members and invited guests. Heartiest congratulations to the organizers for the grand success of their efforts.

The Society is thankful to Dr. A. P. Misra for kindly agreeing to deliver the 26th Mundkur Memorial Lecture and to Dr. H. O. Agarwal for delivering the 6th Jeersannidhi Lecture and to all the members of the Society for their active participation in the deliberations of the meetings.

The M. J. Narasimhan Academic Award for 1989 was awarded to Mr. S. K. Srivastava for presenting his paper entitled "Studies on viral diseases of cowpea (*Vigna unguiculate*) (L.) Walp. in the Delhi region". Heartiest congratulations to him.

The following recommendations of the Executive Council were approved by the General Body.

- 1. The Society should request Dr. Kishan Singh to deliver the 27th Mundkur Memorial Lecture.
- 2. The Society should start Prof. M. S. Pavgi lecture award from 1990.
- 3. The Society should drop the clause of page charges for publication of papers in Indian Phytopathology.
- 4. The Society should increase the annual membership fee from present Rs. 50/- per year to Rs. 75/- per year; and the student membership fee from Rs. 40/- to Rs. 60/-; life membership fee should be 15 times the regular annual fee as earlier. The subscription charges for the journal should be increased from Rs. 400/- to Rs. 500/- for subscribers in the country.
- 5. The Society should discontinue supply of gratis reprints with effect from Vol. 42, 1989. The authors should be charged for reprints and it should be compulsory for the authors to buy atleast 25 reprints of each paper printed in the journal.

6. The next meeting of the Society should be held at Tirupati.

 In view of increased cost of living, honorarium given to the persons working at the Headquarters of the Society should be increased as follows: Business Manager from Rs. 900/- to Rs. 1000/- p.m.; Despatch Clerk from Rs. 350/- to Rs. 450/- p.m.; Clerks from Rs. 150 to Rs. 175/- p.m. and Daftries from Rs. 100/- to Rs. 125/- p.m. The following are the newly elected members of the Executive Council for the year 1989. Heartiest congratulations to them:

President-elect Secretary Joint Secretary Treasurer	: Dr. R. S. Mehrotra : Dr. Dinesh Kumar 1989-91 : Dr. Y. S. Ahlawat 1989-91 : Dr. B. K. Giri 1989-91	
Chapters	Zonal Presidents	Councillors
Northern Delhi Mid-Eastern Eastern Central Western Southern	Dr. M. P. Srivastava Dr. C. L. Sethi Dr. J. Swarup Dr. T. Prasad Dr. P. Raghuveer Rao Dr. R. B. Somani Dr. S. J. Singh	Dr. G. S. Saharan Dr. D. K. Agarwal Dr. R. R. Singh Dr. D. C. Sinha Dr. C. Manoharachary Dr. S. S. Wadibhasme Dr. K. Jagdish Changira
Southern	Dr. S. J. Singh	Dr. K. Jagdish Chandra

In the end, I would like to express my gratitude to all the members of the Executive Council and staff at the Headquarters for their guidance and generous help in the functioning of the Society.

ANUPAM VARMA Secretary